” Welcome to the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Belgaum, Karnataka.”

The Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology was started in the year 1963. Dr. B. S. Kodkany was the first Head of the department since its inception. Dr. B. R Desai, Dr. M. K. Swamy, Dr. M. B. Bellad and Dr. Kamal Patil and Dr. Anita Dalal were the former Heads of the Department. Dr. Yeshita Pujar is the present Head of the department since the year 2020. The objective of the department is to provide state of the art health care to women on par with global standards and to train the undergraduate and postgraduate students to acquire the competencies pertaining to Obstetrics and Gynaecology and

Our efforts are focused towards :

»    Excellence in women’s health care throughout their adolescence, reproductive years and beyond.

»   Excellence in teaching graduates and post graduates.

Postgraduate degree & diploma courses (MS and DGO) were started in the year 1978.  208 MS candidates & 492 DGO candidates have completed their post graduation since then. Currently, we have upgraded to 19 MS candidates from the academic year 2019-20 onwards. Our aim is to develop a competent, responsible Obstetrician and Gynecologist who can thrive and flourish in an environment of socio-cultural and professional diversity. This is achieved by training, moulding, involving them in a stimulating, thought evoking academic environment, promoting self-learning and by intermittently evaluating and assessing their progress.
The department has been actively involved in academic and research activities since its inception, a number of international and national research projects have been completed and some are ongoing, these have been funded by both international and national agencies. Conference, Workshops, CME’s, have been conducted at the International, National and Zonal level on a regular basis.